Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Ten (Eleven) Things
2006-08-27 - 8:53 a.m.

Feeling: lucky
Listening to: Idina Menzel & Tracie Thoms - Take Me For What I Am
Reading/Watching: Rent

About a week ago we asked each other to come up with a list of what we love about each other. Well, my boy cheated and posted last night when I wasn't paying attention. He also posted eleven, instead of ten, the punk. So without any more preamble, here are mine:

Ten Eleven Things

1. His body is the exact right shape, size, and density to fit next to mine. Every hug, snuggle, kiss, head-on-chest, or spooning moment is in perfect proportion.

2. His voice has a resonant quality, akin to Mark Ruffalo�s, which has a depth and a ring to it that just calms me down. Seriously- if he ever chose to become a singer, he�d sound incredible (alas for the tonedeafness).

3. The eyes. Are. So. Beautiful. Expressive, wide open, shifting golden-green (more green when he�s especially excited), with the longest, effeminate, unfair-that-a-man-has-them curly eyelashes framing them. I can�t even stay angry with him for very long, because his eyes look so sad that it kills me.

4. His tastes are broad, eclectic, adaptable. He loves new things. He loves different things. He loves weird things, no matter what�s in fashion. And he is unapologetic about it, whether it�s music, food, or artwork.

5. He would rather walk through an art museum or tour a vineyard than watch a ballgame on TV. We rarely quarrel about what movie to watch, because the three or four that he was leaning toward are the ones I�m interested in, too.

6. When he laughs hard, he slaps his thigh. (He�s got me doing it, now.)

7. He is always willing to learn something new; he is a genuinely interested listener.

8. When there is a task to do, he doesn�t wait to ask if help is needed. He just pitches in. And he�s strong enough to actually be useful.

9. His jokes are painfully corny, but never offensive.

10. He takes pride in his work, and works hard. He also doesn�t do things like play hooky or lie to his boss to get out of trouble, because it means someone else would have to pick up his slack. (This is doubly important because he didn�t always feel this way: he has begun to value what he does every day as more than a means to a paycheck. I see him getting up early before work to investigate jobs and find out more about his GI bill college fund, and I�m so proud of him.)

11. He is so patient with people, it�s astounding. Especially with me; when I�m a total basket case, incapable of a single rational thought, he sits quietly and waits for me to calm down (the waiting quietly used to drive me crazy, I would demand that he say something, and he would calmly say that his reply was still evolving in his head). Then he pulls me into his arms and tells me the exact right thing, or gives me great advice, or just says "I love you." Over and over.

/mush.

Comments? 2 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante