Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

A Week of Perfect Nothings
2010-11-28 - 12:49 a.m.

Feeling: sluggish
Listening to: --
Reading/Watching: Friends, season 3

Somewhere between having a birthday dinner for Hope, and watching Megamind (and being amused, but disappointed... Despicable Me was much better), Will and I decided that this was going to be one of those late nights.

Now we're sitting by a fire, watching DVDs, and playing on laptops. We're munching on junk food and debating the social politics between Ross and Rachel, and whether it matters that they were on a break. The debate is actually getting quite heated.

I realized today that I have spent an entire week relaxing, sleeping in, and spending loads of time with Will. We didn't have a lot of money to spare for going out, since we're saving up for Dante. That meant six solid days of sitting on the couch, watching DVDs, tidying around the house, and talking. One of the days, we drove around looking at possible new houses to rent. With anyone else on the planet, I'd be bored silly by now. Some of the things they said or did would have my teeth on edge, and I'd be itching for some alone time.

I am very relaxed. I am very happy. I really wish I didn't have to go back to work on Monday, but that's wishful thinking. The point is, I always wondered what it would be like if we had a good chunk of time to spend just with each other, away from stress and worry and jobs and money.

And it's even more fantastic. So that little test is done.

The only fly in the ointment is that being home all the time shows me how Dante is faring with the cold weather. And he's not doing well. He's limping, with one foot skimming the ground at all times. He breathes on a whimper. He never gets snappish about it, he just looks at me with those big, sad eyes, and doesn't want to move around.

We're very close to having what we need for his treatment. Just need a little more of a push, and he could get his surgery by Christmas. Fingers crossed.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante