Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Unofficial Day Off
2008-03-31 - 9:34 p.m.

Feeling: annoyed and ineffectual
Listening to: Jeff Buckley - Hallelujah
Reading/Watching: The Perks of Being a Wallflower - Stephen Chbosky

So my battery was utterly kaput today, and I was forced to take a personal day.

Aside from the initial reaction of "... faaaaaahck!", I then tried to convince mon coeur that we could go to Wal-Mart in his car, buy jumper cables, and when one of the people parked next to me left to go to work, we could jump-start my car so I don't have to pay a tow truck.

He refused, on the grounds of playing Call of Duty 4 until 4 a.m. last night, and went back to sleep (he's on swing swift right now, so works from 2 p.m. to 10:30, which I suppose makes him entitled, but still: grr).

I called in to the school, feeling incredibly guilty, and then wanted to call back again and say, "Tell my sub to collect their essays! And remind them to turn in unfinished music journals! And we will have music binder check tomorrow! And if they want to finish the video from last week, the tape is in the upper right hand drawer of my beige filing cabinet..."

...and so on. And poor Denise, the secretary, would develop superpowers simply to be able to throw something large and pointy at my head from a long distance.

I will still give her the note about the essays: that's important. Then I'll watch a few episodes of Coupling, call a tow truck, and spend the day in the garage finishing off The Perks of Being a Wallflower, which I have ridiculously never read.

I'm pretty sure it's just the battery, being over five years old and having built up serious acid-blue corrosion several times over the past few weeks. We cleaned it off, but it didn't work this time. I feel a bit nifty for being handy with the baking soda, though.

Sigh. I just wish I'd known I'd be taking the day off. I would have slept in a little longer.

Now I'm stressed without being able to access my office, tired but not able to nap, and $600 lighter in the wallet, because both the battery and the starter needed replacing. Grr. This was the worst day off ever.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante