Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Such an enlightened society we live in.
2002-12-08 - 12:48 a.m.

Feeling: baffled
Listening to: You're Pretty - "No More to Be Said"
Reading/Watching: Melanie Rawn, "Skybowl"

I want to say something, since I haven't updated since Thursday, but there's not much to say (there's something in my LJ I don't feel like copying).

Did I neglect to mention that Quincy is black? I e-mailed a highschool friend a picture of my boyfriend and she wrote back, "You didn't say he was black."

??? My reply, "No, I didn't...?"

For some reason this matters? I guess it never came up because it was irrelevant. Oh well.

I guess this bothers me so much because Quincy came back from Thanksgiving and mentioned how he told his family about me, and his mom listened to him talk about me and said, "She's a white girl, isn't she?"

He didn't say anything beyond that she was "surprised." His eyes said she was a lot more than that. His face, the way it closed off a bit, told me she said a lot more than that. And he didn't want to tell me because it would hurt.

I don't like this. I'm not going to go on a tirade, but why does this always have to matter to people?! Sigh.

What I'm most ashamed of is that I realized my family doesn't know. They know about Quincy, they know he's in the air force, he's sweet, he's funny, he's good to me, etc. I didn't mention his complexion. Half because they didn't ask what he looked like, and half because I didn't want to see their faces as they pretended not to care; I didn't want to be disappointed in them if I saw that look in their eyes. There's no proof that they would, but the fact that I think they might, still says something.

I just... argh. Too frustrated right now to articulate what is too delicate to discuss.

Comments? 3 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante