Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Heredity
2003-12-25 - 11:36 p.m.

Feeling: lackluster
Listening to: Radiohead - Everything in its Right Place
Reading/Watching: LotR: Fellowship of the Ring, by J.R.R. Tolkien

Today was punctuated by a two-hour debate with my father over the interpretation of two CNN articles.

Usually he manages to browbeat people into agreeing with him; he's relentless. This time my sister and I kept arguing our side, until she got sick of the subject and walked away, while he told me I was being blockheaded for not seeing his opinion.

Hrm. Some things are hereditary, Dad.

It ended when I threw up my hands and said, "We are not going to agree on this, so I'm leaving the room now; I don't want to talk about it anymore."

The man is exhausting, but the weird thing? I feel so much better for holding my own and not being mowed over by him. When I was younger, he would just talk me to death until I was literally frustrated to tears. He was bigger than me, with a louder voice, and had a knack for convincing people that they knew nothing about anything as long as they didn't see it his way. Made me insane.

Even though it's not the best way to start a Christmas, I think we were sick enough of the subject not to hold a grudge over it, so the rest of the day was relatively normal.

And somehow I've managed to lose one of my slippers, so I'm walking around the house half-barefooted, wondering how it disappeared between the time I kicked both my slippers off before bed and woke in the morning to find only one.

Eh bien. Time for bed, cuddling under a new blanket with Fellowship of the Ring.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante