Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Advice
2002-07-06 - 7:18 p.m.

Feeling: Better
Listening to: Elvis Costello
Reading/Watching: The new computer in the Honors office. RIP, Technosaurus.

I am worried about my friend.

She is eighteen. She is wealthy. She is careless. She has a heart of gold. She is impetuous, she is impatient. She's a target.

She is dating a man seventeen years older. He's a thirty-five year old bartender-turned-manager. He is going through a divorce. Going through, meaning legally still married. Two sons. Has to keep their relationship secret so his wife doesn't get everything, including the boys.

They have known each other less than two months. They are practically living together. Her parents have met him, but do not know the extent of their relationship.

I do not think I'm overreacting when I say all this worries me.

I mean, he's NOT out to get her. He's a nice guy. But obviously he's being no more cautious than she is, since he's very aware of how dangerous a situation this is right now, and yet they still spend every single day together. And, as far as I know, every single night (though she swears she's still a virgin).

Call me a pessimist, but I have ugly visions of picking up the pieces some months down the road.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante