Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Boorish
2004-10-14 - 4:50 p.m.

Feeling: argumentative
Listening to: A big whopping medly of nothing
Reading/Watching: Smallville and Lost

There is a girl at school who is very, very partisan when it comes to politics.

She is a sweet, intelligent, lovely girl, and I enjoy talking with her on all subjects except one.

Every time she even comes close to discussing elections, debates, or candidates, I head for the hills, because as nice and intelligent as she is, she is just so damn stubborn and outspoken about her opinions that I basically wind up sitting there, listening to a one-woman filibuster until I am lucky enough to change the subject.

It's gotten to the point that when the names "Bush" or "Kerry" so much as cross her lips, I hold out a hand and say, "Let's not go there." Because even though she is my friend, it is extremely difficult to like her when she revisits that train of thought.

And I wonder, is that how people feel about me when I'm on one of my soapboxes? I can get very loudmouthed and bulldozer-y, too, and the things I am very passionate about, I can talk about for hours, without leaving room for opposition. Every objection that is raised is summarily dismissed or just plain talked-down...

...Which is a scary thought. Perhaps I should stop trying to talk about the issues I'm emotionally invested in. I can't possibly be objective about it, and if I can't, I don't want to go around pissing people off.

Of course, this means I should pretty much abandon the practice of vocal communication entirely. Meep.

Comments? 3 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante