Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

How Things Are
2003-06-05 - 1:15 a.m.

Feeling: depleted
Listening to: Lemonheads - It's About Time
Reading/Watching: Dragons of a Lost Star (book 2, finally, whee!)

No matter how angry you are with someone, no matter how crazy they may make you, no matter how many times you've been torn between hitting them and crying from frustration (or both), no matter how many times you're disgusted or bored or annoyed or infuriated or just plain indifferent...

If you can sit side by side and sing at the top of your lungs to a car radio, none of that seems to matter.

In that moment, I am endless, and I need nothing. In that moment, the only flaw a person can possess is laryngitis.

My brain is tumbling headlong, wanting to drive across reckless miles with windows screaming, wanting to thread my voice into the darkness to tiptoe through heavy walls and fall like eiderdown on sleeping ears.

Work training has been hours of being upright, with straight shoulders and worn shoes. Being congratulated on my first sale, feeling proud when I only have to be told things once. Always standing, with my bladder screaming for mercy.

My feet are exhausted and suggesting bed, and my eyelids are seconding the motion.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante