Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Creating a New Normal
2009-03-29 - 9:24 p.m.

Feeling: happy
Listening to: --
Reading/Watching: Three Men and a Baby

Bear has been taking care of Andante for a month now. The plan was to retrieve him when the big house closed, but obviously that didn't work out.

So last weekend, with three days left in the apartment before I move into the little house I'm renting, Bear met me at the family gathering up in Podunksville, Texas and brought me a sixty-pound monster that she claims is my dog. He's the same color, and his eyes are same amber shade, so perhaps she's right, but he seems to have doubled in size since I last saw him.

I was worried he might not remember me, or that he'd have become more attached to her while he was away. When Bear got out of the car and let him hop down, he strained on his leash so hard, it broke free of the loop on his collar. I think we were mutually thrilled, really.

I didn't want to mope too much about Allegra being gone, because it is nice to go to work without having to feed her or take her walking. But there is something to be said for a creature that basks in my attention and follows me from room to room, even just for the opportunity to flop at my feet. It makes me feel safer, because he kept watch at the front door and barked in his big-boy voice at the pizza delivery guy (total fake-out, of course, because he'd lick the dude to death sooner than bite him, but the guy was nervous anyway).

'Dante's only eight months old as of next Friday, so he eats like a horse and still jumps around like he's a twenty-pound toddler, which makes for some interesting lap-bruises. He's already chewed his way through a massive rawhide bone, and unraveled half a skein of knitting yarn, tangling himself in it so thoroughly that he had to limp up the stairs to me, dolefully dragging blue threads, to ask for my assistance.

My loving husband took our TV and both DVD players, so I have left the 13-inch VCR combo that I bought for my college dorm room, but I stopped by Half Price Books and took advantage of their clearance section. Now I have five new 99-cent videos to tide me over until I can buy a proper DVD player for the new place. At the moment, I am grading papers while 'Dante watches Three Men and a Baby with me.

It's good to have him back. At risk of sounding melodramatic, it's like getting a part of me back, too.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante