Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

If I Had it All
2001-07-10 - 11:36 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

"If I were a king, if I had everything... if I were giant-sized on top of it all, then what in the world would I sing for, if I had it all?" ~ Dave Matthews, If I Had it All

It got me thinking. People wish for more of things all the time- more money, more power, more fame, more happiness, more free time, more cheese, more somethingorother. It's always there, that desire for something we don't have.

But what if you had it? Snap of a finger, and it's there, before you even had time to know you wanted it?

God, life would get pretty dull pretty fast.

Because when you think about it, life is about not having. Striving for. Trying. Ambition. Achieving goals. All that frustrating stuff that builds your character and was the reason man invented swearing.

Take a second, ask yourself that silly little question: What do you want? And what would you have to do to get it? What do you actually do to try to get it? Then pretend all that's taken away and it's instant gratification, all the way.

Bo-ring.

I mean, what good would it be to do anything if you know you could have anything as soon as you wanted it? We call that kind of thing heaven, not needing anything for all eternity, but I bet they've still got some card games going on up there to keep people busy.

So yeah, life sucks when you can't get what you want. But if you could get anything you wanted as soon as you wanted it, life would really suck, because there'd be no reason for anything.

Why go to work? You can have money. Why go spend that money? You can have all that stuff free. Why get all that stuff? It's worth nothing if you can't appreciate the effort it took to get it. Why eat, or sleep, or read, when you can abolish your hunger, fatigue, and ignorance, all in the blink of an eye? If you could have it, there would be nothing to care about.

What makes my life a life is the constant struggle, the constant striving. The reaching. If I could describe myself every day in one verb, it would be "trying." Not achieving or having or gaining, but trying, because once you achieve one goal you immediately move on to the next, right? Like rungs on a ladder.

So here's to reaching. It's pretty cool after all.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante