Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Favorites (or lack thereof)
2001-08-17 - 10:06 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

I got one of those funky little e-mail survey/chain mail things, and as always it asked for my favorite band/book/toenail/brand of cat food, and I realized as I filled it out that it was extremely hard for me to pick a favorite anything.

It's always been that way for me. I could never pick a favorite- not because there was nothing I liked, but because I loved everything. It was impossible to love one CD without also adoring another. Forget picking favorite song, I couldn't even pick a favorite solo female artist of the 90's era.

After thinking about it a bit (which I always do when an impression sparkles into my brain), I decided it's because I search so hard for the good in everything. Don't even have to, most of the time... but that means it's very hard to like one thing over another without feeling I'm cheating number 2. And yes, I realize the object itself doesn't have feelings. Pizza doesn't get offended when I choose egg rolls as my favorite food. I just... can't choose.

Some people can, though. They have their favorites on the tip of their tongue. Any category, they have a favorite. One that outshines all the rest... and I feel so silly, putting down ten authors' names when asked for my favorite book.

Maybe it has something to do with people's definition of favorite? Do they mean the one you're hooked on right now? Do they mean the one you could listen to/watch/eat for a week without wanting anything else? 'Cause I always have a five-minute favorite. I love The Truth About Cats & Dogs the entire two hours I'm watching it, but as soon as I catch Real Genius on cable I adore Val Kilmer all over again. I go through periods where the Dixie Chicks own my CD player and then I practically bury the disc in my backyard for a month while I feed my Tori Amos addiction.

And there's no way I could have the same favorite forever. It would get so sickening. I like variety too much. Might as well ask me for my favorite blade of grass.

I loved the color purple for about ten years (we're talking serious addiction, here- clothes, posters, shoelaces, jewelry, you name it), but suddenly I looked around and realized virtually everything I owned was purple because friends and family had caught on and gifts had been monochrome for years. Suddenly I was on a yellow kick and my room looked like sunshine, until the purple was diluted enough to entice me again.

The only time I can pick a favorite is if there's only one or two options. :) Favorite internet service provider? AOL. Favorite dessert at the restaurant where I work? Chocolate cake. Favorite hand to write with? Left.

Favorite place to post babble and pretend people care? Diaryland. :)

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante