Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

And life continues on
2006-09-12 - 12:36 a.m.

Feeling: buoyed
Listening to: Blue October - Chameleon Boy
Reading/Watching: Prozac Nation - Elizabeth Wurtzel

I am giving in to the urgings of a friend who wants me to make a MySpace music page.

Not so that I can be "discovered" and make it big as a classical singer. More like so that she can hear some of the songs from my senior recital, which she did not get to attend. So what the hell, I'm doing it.

But the page setup is designed to explain a band's hype, so there are all sorts of details as to their roots, their backstory, their sound. But I listen to these mp3s of myself from a year and a half ago, and I wish I was still in as good shape as I was then. So under Artist's Influences I want to put "narcissism" and "a few grand on ten years of voice lessons distributed among five teachers." And under Sounds Like I want to write "total ass."

But I think MySpace might censor that. So yeah.

I went to the first rehearsal for the jewish high holidays, and as always, I dreaded the demands of the job, but now that I've received my sweet little check and spent a few hours in the company of wonderful, musical people, I am in love with this job again. I am in love with this music again. I am in love with spending my time among people with whom I can laugh and sing and splat and laugh again, people who look on me like a proteg� or a daughter to be guided (the youngest member of the quintet is ten years older than me), people who truly, insanely believe that I'm going to be something someday.

Gotta love those people. We should always remember to keep them around.

Footnote: Thanks for all the encouragement, but The Job didn't work out for mon coeur. He is submitting resum�s and making phone calls for the next two weeks of his leave, and we are praying. ...Well, I am praying. The atheist husband is, naturally, just hoping. He doesn't know how much I've been praying, since that's about all I can do now.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante