Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Foreign Languages
2002-05-29 - 11:30 a.m.

Feeling: ::swoon::
Listening to: a phone conversation in Spanish, about ten feet away.
Reading/Watching: whoever that guy is that's talking. oooh.

I have such a thing for foreign languages.

I guess this just means I'm yet another annoying American. Europeans would say "pfft, get over it, everyone does it." Because over there, people 200 miles away speak an entirely different language all the time.

I eavesdropped on a phone conversation in the next cubicle simply because it was in Spanish. It was about a car being repossessed, but still I listened, fascinated, trying to see how much I would understand. (I think I got about 5%. Woo for living in Texas my entire life.)

I'll pause on the street if two people are conversing in French or Japanese. Hearing someone speak fluently literally stops me in my tracks. It's so fascinating.

You know that movie A Fish Called Wanda? Jamie Lee Curtis plays a woman who's mad for foreign languages. Kevin Kline will speak Italian to turn her on. She falls madly for John Cleese (John Cleese!) just because he speaks Russian. That is going to be me someday. When Tiger would say "Pardoname, senorita," it used to reduce me to girly-style giggles.

And if I can't marry a man who speaks another language... well, I'll at least grab one that has an interesting accent. I have to. For the sake of our marriage. Even arguments would be sexy, just 'cause of that inflection he'd have, exotic and educated (because anyone who speaks with an accent is clearly fluent in at least two languages, which makes them more educated than about 75% of Americans).

I stole Bri's copy of Pride and Prejudice, 'cause I'm love with the British accents. I should probably give it back... eventually.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante