Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

"The rain will be gone in the morning, but I'll still be here."
2003-07-31 - 10:13 a.m.

Feeling: awesome
Listening to: Vienna Teng - Lullaby for a Stormy Night
Reading/Watching: Georgette Heyer - Regency Buck

"Ooooh, I love this song. Hang on." The volume climbed from decorous elevator-music decibels until it filled Luna's interior with pensive piano. Fran fell appreciatively silent.

I've been looking in the mirror for so long
that I've come to believe my soul's on the other side
All the little pieces falling, shatter
Shards of me too sharp to put back together
Too small to matter,
but big enough to cut me into so many little pieces
and if I try to touch her, then I bleed
I bleed, and I breathe no more.

I hung my eyelids at half-mast, and let my voice leak into Amy Lee's, slow and throaty, like rolling water under her crystal notes. Melody became consonance. It was a harmony I sang as simply as breathing, for how it wound and dipped just under hers.

Take a breath and I try to draw from my spirit's well
Yet again you refuse to drink, like a stubborn child
Lie to me
convince me that I've been sick forever
and all of this will make sense when I get better
I know the difference
between myself and my reflection
I just can't help but to wonder
Which of us do you love?
So I bleed, I bleed
and I breathe, I breathe
I breathe no more.

The last notes are scarcely sound, ragged breath with the intention of pitch, never quite achieving it as it sighs into nothing. The piano, chastened, softly tinkles away into the backseat, and leaves the car in silence.

I always take such a deep breath after that song.

Fran was looking at me as I drove, letting the constriction in my chest slowly loosen. "...You're awesome."

I laughed. "Thank you." It's not something I've never heard. People are usually unnecessarily impressed when I break into harmony, unless they know the dozens of my choir-minded friends who do the same.

"No, seriously. You're awesome. In... so many ways. You're awesome."

My lungs shrugged free of their constraints. Another self-conscious laugh caught in my throat, but escaped in a smile.

A real smile. "Fran, you're priceless."

We spent two hours driving, talking, listening to Evanescence, traversing the whole of *Schoolville until we'd covered over 100 miles.

Ended in a real hug, the kind that can make your shoulders crack. It is good to take a chance on a person, and not be let down.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante