Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

as Jo March would say: "Genius burns!"
2004-04-27 - 3:11 a.m.

Feeling: spazzy and jumpy and giddy and jittery and sparky and gibbery and stuff...
Listening to: Liz Phair - Double Dutch / Radiohead - The Tourist / Jennifer Knapp - Come to Me / MegMarch - Butterfly River
Reading/Watching: watching tonight's Everwood to wake myself up...

My big concert band arrangement is 75% finished.

It is 3 in the morning. I am sagging under the weight of so much caffiene, wanting to drift off into sleep even as my feet jitter under the desk. If I finish this by 6 a.m., I have promised myself a three-hour nap before my voice lesson.

The one thing keeping me awake is the excitement. I'm using my own composition to arrange, instead of someone else's work, and it makes it seem more worthwhile... worth the anxiety, worth the perfectionism. Worth the enforced insomnia. Every time I change a chord progression, add in a countermelody, and press the "playback" button on my music software, I get to hear a midi rendition of what I have written, a far cry from the little piano ditty I wrote when I was nine.

It's been virtually the same for over ten years ('cause I was too lazy to do anything with it), and now, this past week, it's maturing into this entirely different work, for thirty musicians to play, instead of just a pair of hands. It's scary and thrilling and when I'm this giddy from so much Wild Cherry Pepsi, I feel like a genius.

You know (she said ruefully), I could've taken the easy road and chosen an existing work to arrange, something simple by Bach or Mozart, something everyone knows, something I could just plug into place. But where's the fun in that? It's still just as exhausting, and in the end it's not even your own music. Everyone's out to impress with this last assignment... when my professor (who thinks I'm kind of a slacker, on account of my complaining about the workload) told me that using my own composition would make it twice as time-consuming, I looked at him straight on, with that wide-eyed, fake-innocent expression that tells most people I am definitely up to no good, saying: "So?"

(I really, truly, cordially despise the man, and celebrate that this will be my last class with him EVER.)

My second choice was to do something funny with the Super Mario Bros. theme, but I didn't feel like listening to it long enough to analyze the chords, so... no.

...Okay, break's over. Just had to pop in and share my crazy scary mid-wee-morning adrenaline with you all.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante