Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Boogedy-boogedy
2002-01-14 - 9:38 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

More fun facts about my dorm, since you all care so much. It is possibly the oldest building on campus, though I imagine it's been done over since it was first built. It was built for monks in 18## (or, as Eddie Izzard would say, "Eighteen-fubba-fumph"), and the rooms are about six feet by twelve practically, eight by twelve in actuality. Big closets, a desk, and a sink take up those extra two feet.

It's reputed to be haunted.

I don't mean haunted like, "woo, let's scare the cute little freshmen." People I know and trust have reported strange happenings. A friend of a friend claims to have seen a ghostly clergyman standing in her room a few times.

As you might have guessed, I am somewhat gullible and highly impressionable. I jump the most during scary movies. I scream loudest. I had nightmares as a kid. I wasn't scared by hairy beasts or psychopaths, I was scared by skeletons and ghosts.

Needless to say, this news about my dorm scares the holy bejeebers out of me, provided it's late enough at night. It gets me wondering exactly why my room was available in the middle of the year, and what horrible things a priest or monk would have to do to merit spook-hood.

Right now, I am completely practical about it. Probably overactive imaginations, why on earth would men of God want to haunt anyone, lots of people live here and never have problems, yadda yadda.

I promise you, as soon as the lights are out, I'll be hugging my teddy bear (yes, I have one. Shut up), face to the wall, silently praying that nothing happens. Luckily Pillow is a huge caramel-colored bear, so he's good for hugging (though I ostensibly brought him to prop up against while I watch TV), and if I keep my lava lamp on, a comforting purple glow suffuses my room.

But I'm still a bit tense. I hope this pre-occupation ends soon. I woke up three times last night when a door closed or a wall creaked.

Sole consolation? Every time I pray for comfort, pray for sleep without nightmares, my request is granted. God is good to me.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante