Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Bystander
2005-12-11 - 7:36 p.m.

Feeling: stymied
Listening to: The Drifters - Save the Last Dance For Me
Reading/Watching: Grey's Anatomy

I hate that feeling when someone close to you is upset, and there's nothing you can do about it.

Mon coeur just found out that his cousin had a brain anneurism and is in the hospital. His chances of survival are good, but he was found unconscious by his father, so the doctors don't know how long his brain was deprived of oxygen, and the risk of brain damage could be severe.

So right now, one of the cousins my fianc� played with as kids is in the hospital, we know almost nothing of how he's going to turn out, and we live three states away, so can do nothing but worry.

It's killing me. He doesn't get upset by much (at least not past casual annoyance or frustration), so seeing him quiet and hurting makes me realize exactly how protective I am of him. And of course, there's nothing I can do, so I just stand around, waiting for him to need me.

Although my mom has gone through brain surgery before (she had a severe brain hemorrhage when she was in highschool, and again when she was pregnant with Bear), so I think I'll call and ask her for the details, since she obviously is fully recovered, what with teaching AP English and all. Maybe it'll shed some light on things, even bring hope.

I'm utterly ridiculous. All I want to do right now is wrap him in pillows and blankets, force-feed him chocolate, and magically make him feel better from the sheer power of my Attempting to Help.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante