Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Falling Action
2009-07-19 - 9:20 a.m.

Feeling: hopeful
Listening to: Jennifer Knapp - Refine Me
Reading/Watching: True Blood, season 1

I had something interesting to say, and naturally as soon as I opened the window to type, it vanished from my brain.

So instead, I will tell you what I just saw:

Andante, who has been following me around the house like a shadow ever since I got back from New York, just walked into the living room, looked at me hopefully, then decided to sit down. He stared at the floor as he turned around twice, then folded his legs and tried to gracefully settle into a little crescent shape. But since it's a ceramic tile floor, his graceful descent became a slippery plop-skid-sprawl in which his limbs splayed out goofily and his head made an audible "whonk" on the floor.

But he is now happily spread-eagle on the tile, although he will immediately hop up to keep me in eyesight if I do something foolish, like walk into the kitchen or go to the bathroom.

New York was marvelous. I saw a homeless woman pee on the sidewalk, I saw the skyline at night from the top of the Empire State building, I saw a guitarist warbling Phoebe-Buffay style in the subway.

I have one month left of summer, before returning to school. My third year of teaching, when I'll finally get to take another grad class. Life goes on. I'm looking forward to it.

...although certain pieces of it seem too fragile to talk about just yet. So far, life is really, really good. It scares me a little, because I don't want to screw it up or do it wrong.

People may ask "how can you 'be happy'... wrong?" but you'd be amazed. Try to snatch too much of it, and it'll puff away. So I have to hold out my hands, and be careful to keep them open until it lands gently in my palm. Don't want to scare anyone... else... away. Especially someone I like this much, without an ounce of desperation or place-holder-ness.

...and my newly-designated-ex hasn't bothered me, by the way, with the exception of a random 3AM phone call last night, which I didn't answer. I wonder if he knew that I'd recognize his work number.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante