Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

The Unfun One
2002-02-10 - 7:15 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

I've been such a downer lately. I know I sort of have an excuse, but I promise not to talk about my illness today, even though this little private room, while great for homework, is five times more likely to cause cabin fever. I'm getting better. No more moping.

Yesterday I went out to lunch with a friend I haven't seen in about two years- I've missed her terribly since she graduated and left for college. She came back to visit her first year away, when I was a senior, but other than that... nothing. So it was fun, except for I sounded like a frog and it hurt to talk.

We went to this restaurant where they specialize in being funny and goofy, and when you're in a good, social mood, people are all, "Yeah! Hit me with it! Woo!" and it's great. The waiters dress up as storybook characters (we had Tigger waiting on us), and last time I was there I loved it, but this time I didn't have the energy to participate, and they just seemed amazingly obnoxious.

The place is built like a rabbit-warren, with each little nook decorated in a different theme, and on my way back to my booth in Little Mexico I accidentally passed through the bar area.

Shaggy from Scooby Doo loudly proclaimed my error and followed me back to my table, demanding that I walk back through and do it right. All in the spirit of fun, you understand. But I swear, it's so irritating when people want to make you do something and you truly, honestly, do not want to, but don't want to growl "leave me the hell alone you mop-headed freak" because that would make you a mean and hateful person. It would make everyone upset and hurt the feelings of the guy who was just joking around and single-handedly I would destroy the joie de vivre of the entire restaurant. Plus I didn't have the energy to explain to him that no, I wasn't playing along, I honestly did not want to, have pity on the sick person.

So yeah. I frickin' slid back out of the booth to go walk back through the bar area and take the proper way out, with Shaggy noisily announcing my passage and people at nearby tables grinning and giggling and enjoying the fun.

The things I do to avoid being the Unfun One.

I find it so funny that Lala was saying just today that I "pontificate the meaning of life" in my diary, while I look back over the months and see page after page of "blah blah whine blah." Guess it's all about perspective, eh?

I pledge to write something positive in this entry, so here goes... um, this. YEAH!!!! Yay WORLD!!!!! Hah. Victory.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante