Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Neither in B&W nor Color
2005-04-20 - 8:07 a.m.

Feeling: lyrical
Listening to: Vast - Lost
Reading/Watching: Gilmore Girls

Does anyone else dream in music?

There are times I wake from sleeping, still humming (or mentally transcribing) the notes from a dream. I am quite certain I've never heard the music before, because I don't have that inner question of "Now where does that come from?", so I'll wake singing something my brain concocted in sleep.

I'll go about my business, getting up, brushing teeth, dressing, tidying, whatever, still humming the song, adding the harmonies I remember and making up the ones I've forgotten, inserting a countermelody and a B-section, sometimes taking it into the shower and singing it wordlessly, thinking "this isn't bad; maybe I should write it down."

Then real music or television noise comes on, either from my room or Nimsay's, and the song quietly slips back to dreamland and expires. Ten minutes afterward, I'm hard pressed to remember how any of it went.

So now I have to know: does anyone else do that, or am I just a freak?

Comments? 6 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante