Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Muzzled
2004-02-24 - 9:33 p.m.

Feeling: quiet
Listening to: Mozart - Marriage of Figaro - "Voi che sapete"
Reading/Watching: Gilmore Girls

"How was your day?" I asked as I walked in the door.

"Don't ask," Nimsay answered. After a few minutes, she came out of her room and parked by the kitchen table, watching me cook dinner.

I grimaced. "Hey, want to hear some good news?"

"Sure."

"Dan and Troxler told me to rest my voice, so the choir is singing in the Ash Wednesday service tomorrow..." I busied myself with measuring water, "-without me."

"How is this good news?" she asked.

"Um... because I get to sleep in?"

"So how come you're crying?"

Another tear fell. I tried to grin; it came out crooked. "They haven't sung without me since I got here. Ever."

It's ridiculous how much this is depressing me, because I've lost my voice before, and it's such a silly little thing. I won't even have to get up until noon, tomorrow, because classes are canceled for Mass, but... I always recovered in time for performances, always pulled through and toughed it out and made it to the triumphant final note before crashing.

I'm heartbroken. Melodramatic, perhaps, but I am.

Someone suggested I go anyway and lip-synch, just to be part of it. But it would be like dancing on someone else's feet. I think it would only make things worse.

On the upswing, I realized we have only three more weeks until Spring Break, and that's a definite yay. Hello, lake cabin with fishing and family.

Comments? 2 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante