Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

End of an Era
2007-07-25 - 8:03 p.m.

Feeling: sad
Listening to: Vienna Teng - Between
Reading/Watching: American Gods, by Neil Gaiman

I just examined my planner for this fall, trying to write in rehearsals and performances for the Jewish high holy days, and realized that Geshem Yizkor is the same day as my uncle's wedding.

...The wedding is a five-hour drive away, and I've already promised to sing for it.

So that, on top of the tight squeeze of commuting 45 minutes away for school and still working at the caf�, while trying to hold on to my voice students, makes singing for the HHDs damn near impossible.

I've been singing with David and the quartet for four years. This would have been my fifth season. This was my first real singing gig, which Dr. Troxler recommended me for, and helped me through the first time. The synagogue was where I got to know her husband Jeff, and became friends, instead of just teacher-student, with Evelyn. The music was so influential to my undergrad studies that I fought tooth-and-nail to feature it in my senior recital (my accompanist was not comfortable with the free-flowing tempo and changing modal styles). I am so immeasurably sad.

They won't read this, but Kim, Larry, and John, I am going to miss you this year. You've given me great advice, hooked me up with some incredible contacts, and bolstered my confidence over the years. Whoever they choose to sing soprano this year has no idea how lucky she is.

Edited to add: except I just found out they asked the soprano I worked with at the Episcopal church, a sweetheart who badly needed a good gig. When I couldn't make one of the dates last year, I recommended her, and apparently she made a good impression. This makes me feel a bit better.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante