Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Newbie
2004-06-19 - 11:33 p.m.

Feeling: oblivious
Listening to: Radiohead - Talk Show Host
Reading/Watching: nothing, for the moment

There are times I wish I'd been more social in high school.

If I had been more butterfly, less cocoon, I might have learned what constitutes flirting. At this point in my life, as a former wallflower, I am twenty-two years old and haven't the faintest clue where friendliness leaves off and flirting begins, because I never received enough attention to merit the distinction.

Isn't there a manual somewhere? Does someone have any definitive guidelines? Because there is a co-worker who is giving me vibes, and I'm not sure whether to be friendly and treat him like I would my other male friends (i.e. be open and affectionate and casual), or keep him at a slight distance so that he knows exactly what's what.

At first I was going for silly-and-huggy, as the rest of my training class is with each other, but now I'm wary, since silly-and-huggy has resulted in increased attention from him. I'm not sure I like it. (It's not that I dislike him, but I don't want to lead him on.)

It's times like these I wish I knew more about dating and flirting and all the savvy, suave stuff they have in the Cool Kids Handbook. I never know where the line is between "you're my pal" and "come get me oh baby baby."

For all I know, I could be imagining the entire thing. I do that.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante