Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Necessity -> Invention
2006-09-04 - 12:03 a.m.

Feeling: accomplished
Listening to: Tonic - Future Says Run
Reading/Watching: In Her Shoes, by Jennifer Weiner

So I get home, and the hubby is hungry. I am, too, a bit. We don't want to go out, so I suggest Breakfast at Night, except neither of us really wants eggs or anything greasy, so it's just pancakes then. So I putter around and start Experimenting. It's a slight spin on the cinnamon pancakes I made when Lala was visiting.

1 cup whole wheat pancake mix
1 cup milk
1 tsp. oil
1 egg
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1/4 cup finely chopped pecans
1 or 2 bananas

Mix together everything but the bananas, making sure to eradicate as many lumps as possible (except the nuts; those can't be helped, obviously). Then make the same as regular ol' pancakes, with the burner pre-heated on medium low, flipping when they're bubbly all the way to the middle. If you want them to be a bit crispy, put a tiny bit of butter in the pan between each pancake (but not much... like a 1/4 of a pat).

Then slice bananas, and top each pancake with some banana slices, and drizzle with honey instead of syrup. Yayness abounds. Mon coeur had three and was looking around for more when I gently reminded him that the cook hadn't had any yet.

Anyone who stays over is guaranteed cinnamon-ginger-banana-nut pancakes in the morning. This, along with my chicken marsala, is going on my list of Recipes Katie Tweaked Around With But Didn't Ruin. (So far, the list has two things on it. Oh, wait, three: forgot about the lemon-butter sauce I ripped off of MacGrill's scalloppine di pollo.)

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante