Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Poems On This Day
2001-04-11 - 7:07 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

911
by Katherine Green

Is she friends
under the score of happy pills
Or do the little caplets
Love me in her stead?
This, her darkest hour
hangs heavy on my lungs
My breath married to her pulse
sinking together

"You aren't going to die."
"We're all dying.
Some faster than others."

But not tonight.
Not tonight.

I haven't really been able to write about it. I hate giving details. She's asked me not to tell anyone. I couldn't help the friends I leaned on knowing, but I did say the tale over and over:

"She had a problem with her medication, and she'll be back when she's walking."

Problem my ass. Swallowing twenty at once does present something of a problem.

I haven't been able to write about it- not that, nor Charlie Brown. He would look so ugly in a poem. I know it. So does this. He doesn't deserve a poem- that immortalization. But she does. I haven't been able to write about it. Then I went to my first ever poetry society meeting, and sat there while they discussed trivial things and my pen disobeyed me. They asked me to read it again when I was done.

I feel cleaner now that it's on paper.

Of course, I'm not entirely wrapped up in it. :) When we all decided to do something silly and wrote about a sunflower seed, I wrote,

Ode to a Sunflower Seed

You, O Seed
With your inherent promise
Your hatchling a proud king
Tall, supple in his merry crown
Bowing to lesser blossoms
Gracious giant
From this salty womb
Now a heat-raped husk
Crunch against my teeth.

And no, I am not on drugs. :)

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante