Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Practice Makes Perfect
2008-04-06 - 5:45 p.m.

Feeling: jealous
Listening to: Lisa Loeb - How
Reading/Watching: The Tao of Pooh

A friend of ours became a father today.

Anyone remember Satan? He's still around, even though I may not mention him much since he broke up with Persephone. He found a new girl (we'll call her Lilith), and they had an "oops" baby, even though said product of the "oops" is beautiful and lovely.

It started when we were over at their new house for dinner: we brought the ingredients, everybody cooked, and a grand time was had, until Lilith's water broke after three bites of peach cobbler.

We all leapt into our respective fits of action, with Satan packing bag after bag, and mon coeur picking up the dishes. I packed the food away in the fridge and called a few friends to let them know she was in labor.

Fifteen hours later (I know, ouch), mon coeur and I came back from a run to Target to get flowers and a card (and baby's first Pooh-bear doll), and there she was, perfect and pink and pudgy and nine pounds, two ounces.

Naturally, mon coeur wrapped his arms around me and whispered, "So when will we have one of those?"

I know he was just teasing, since we've both discussed the necessary order of events*, but I still grinned and said, "Since I remembered to take my pill this morning, I've kinda thwarted any plans for the time being."

But still. Pink pudgy cuteness is very persuasive.

*=Necessary order of events:
1) Buy a house
2) Finish school
3) Establish a few years' job experience (which can happen simultaneously with school, so we're in luck)
4) Practice becomes production

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante