Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Under the Car Seat
2007-06-06 - 11:43 p.m.

Feeling: miffed
Listening to: DMB - Dancing Nancies
Reading/Watching: Girls in Pants, by Ann Brashares

Some people show love in odd ways.

Me, I show my esteem of a new person in my life by making them a mix CD. It's very junior high, but that's how I do it. Most of my friends have a burned CD that I made them ages ago (mon coeur has three or four, Satan has at least two, Miller, Persephone, Krynn, and Drew have one apiece, Bork has two failed attempts, Bri had a two-disc set that she may even still listen to). The guest favors we gave out at our wedding were mix CDs of songs that were meaningful through our relationship, with cross-genre artists and as few sappy ballads as possible. I even made one for the guy who played Romeo last fall, because he was training us for the fight and dance scenes, and I gave him a collection of fast-paced warm-up music (which he used repeatedly).

I like to do it. It's fun. I spend a couple hours compiling a list, usually filling a disc as close to capacity as possible with songs that suit you specifically, either how I perceive you, what I think you'll find amusing, or a message I'm trying to tell you. If you do not like the CD I make you, you don't have to hide it- admit that it's not your style, and I'll try to do better next time. My feelings won't be hurt. Because you're new in my life, the mix is usually something of a shot in the dark.

But please don't hide it under your car seat so I can find it months later, sliding around on the carpet and scratched all to hell. It makes me sad.

P.S.- I'm totally willing to share mixes. E-mail me your address and what kind of stuff you like (or tell me to guess), and I will send you one.

Comments? 2 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante