Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Increase of Happiness
2005-07-06 - 8:23 p.m.

Feeling: mooshy
Listening to: A Perfect Circle - Magdalena
Reading/Watching: Miss Congeniality 2 (which I could've lived without seeing, but the last half was fun)

All right, so I read once that going from having sex once a month to once a week causes the same amount of happiness as getting a $50,000-a-year raise. (I read it in a magazine, which quoted the Scandinavian Journal of Economics, 2003)

Naturally I shared this little tidbit about sex vs. raises with mon coeur, and he laughed and said it was probably true.

Today, during random conversation, he mentioned how different his life had become, since we met. I asked if he ever missed those days, the life pre-Katie where he almost never spent money, could do anything he wanted (i.e. play video games all weekend and never shave or change his clothes) and all of his time was his own, never having to humor some crazy girl who was having a crappy day and just wanted to verbally abuse vent to someone until she burst into tears and threw herself on his chest for comfort. He never had to deal with so much drama, before he had Crazy Girlfriend around, and there are times I wonder whether he misses it.

And I was telling him this, asking, "do you miss having so much free time, living in the dorms, never having to pay bills, never having to keep your room clean-?"

"The military still made me clean my room."

"Yeah, but they did it by cutting your paycheck or something, all I have to do is withhold nookie."

He shot me a mischievous look, and said "It's the same thing, really, like the fifty-thousand-a-year raise..."

At which point I burst out laughing, and he hugged me, and promised that he doesn't miss that life. At all. Which is why he wants to permanently saddle himself with the drama of Crazy Girlfriend Fianc�e... because even though his life has changed so very very much, and most of it is because of me, he likes it that way.

I just wanted to say it publicly: the feeling's mutual.

Comments? 3 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante