Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Six Years, in Snippets.
2006-05-25 - 5:50 p.m.

Feeling: silly
Listening to: Blue October - Overweight
Reading/Watching: Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister, by Gregory Maguire

Yay for journal anniversaries! Six years ago, I started this thing, and now I've had it for longer than I've had just about anything in my life, including people (excepting family and the three people I still talk to from high school).

I'd actually be curious to find out which (still updated) journals on Diaryland have been around the longest. I wonder if I'd be in the top 100.

I was trying to think of an interesting way to present this anniversary edition without using any of my previous ideas (which, by the way, is hard), and remembered a meme that one of my friends does on the first of every new year. She goes back through the past year of her journal, and lists the first sentence of the first entry of every month.

So I'm going to do that, only with a twist. I'll post one sentence from the first entry of every month during my first year, and one sentence from every month from this last year. This is a much better idea, since I'm lazy and don't want to look up 72 different entries. Plus, the sentence will not always be the first sentence, because sometimes my first sentence is "So." This way, everyone understands what I'm talking about, and we can all laugh at how things change in a mere 6 years.

May 25, 2000:
Well, I must be some new brand of loser, because I actually believe people are going to read this junk.

June 1, 2000:
How old do you have to be before you escape the stigma of "your age"?

July 5, 2000:
The hardest part is not knowing whether I ache for the loss of the person, or the loss of having a person.

August 2, 2000:
Damn, I need a distraction. Soon. He's like a recurring dream.

September 7, 2000:
Ever heard Berlioz's Symphonie Fantastique?

October 3, 2000:
The boyfriend-of-a-friend, without any ulterior motive, heard me wryly say that no one ever called me, and said, "Why? You're very pretty." I wanted to grab him by the shoulders and say, "You have NO idea what that just did for my self-esteem."

November 1, 2000:
Magnetic Poetry. Eeefunfun.

December 7, 2000:
I was in the bookstore trying not to stumble upon Sara as she bought me a Christmas present, and I found shelves and shelves of poetry books.

January 8, 2001:
I've been absorbed in the holidays, and I felt there wasn't much to say that wouldn't be gushing over "What I Got For Christmas" or moping over "How Much of a D!ck Charlie Brown Is," so I said nothing at all.

(nothing in February, nothing in March...)

April 2, 2001:
Last night we got into a fight and I raised my voice for the first time (I was always careful not to do that with her, because I knew what kind of state she was in, but I was sick of being trampled) and a lot of truth was unveiled, and I regret nothing I said, but I do hate the fact that she, entirely irrational what with the argument and lapsed medication (2 weeks without a single pill and I had no idea), swallowed 20 antidepressants without my knowing and starting throwing up shortly after the argument was over.

May 7, 2001:
I heard back from the company that recently made me so ecstatic before. Farrar, Straus & Giroux is not interested in publishing my novel.

now, fast-forward...

May 14, 2005:
I never realized exactly how much I need dopey things like online journals and buddy lists until I drove across the country to the Land of Crappy Internet and had to delay reading for 7 days.

June 1, 2005:
It's like having mountains of beautiful glass beads, and no wire or thread to string them together.

July 2, 2005:
I excused myself and went to the bathroom, sitting down inside the stall and putting my hands over my mouth, and suddenly I was fighting to breathe, fighting to stay quiet, trying with all of my might to stop crying because in the space of five seconds I went from quiet and moody to completely unraveled.

August 3, 2005:
You know you're a real teacher when you're willing to sacrifice stability and better money for your students.

September 4, 2005:
Yes, Hurricane Katrina occurred because N'awlins is a City of Sssssssin.

October 4, 2005:
People are crying and not sleeping and getting dumped and girls are hooking up with rebound guys within four days, and I want to throw things at every one of them and yell, "You're doing it all crooked!"

November 2, 2005:
I think this year needed to happen.

December 2, 2005:
I am being haunted by the Ghost of My Previous Ass.

January 1, 2006:
I get married this year. Oh, holy lord.

February 2, 2006:
It's really fun when someone I thought was one of my closest friends actually turns out not to give a damn about me.

March 2, 2006:
Today I had a nice quiet panic attack about how I wasn't ready to get married because surely I would screw it all up and he would wind up hating me.

April 4, 2006:
Of course, I am sure my unbelievable chutzpah in thinking I have all areas covered is destined to come back and bite me in the bustle, but for now I am happy.

May 2, 2006:
Yes, I am posting while on my honeymoon.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante