Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Victory in small doses
2007-11-18 - 1:45 a.m.

Feeling: exhilirated
Listening to: Garbage - Metal Heart
Reading/Watching: Episodes of every show I missed for the past 2 weeks

Used this week to get organized and turn things around. This was, of course, with the help of my handy-dandy "assistant teacher" (a.k.a. the substitute they called in for the week to back me up and basically be an extra pair of hands).

I organized the music folders by class period. I input all my grades to date. I photocopied new music and loads of music worksheets. I taught the choir things. I conducted singing with my arms, and not with my head while banging out a melody on the piano. I made jokes, and I laughed, and many of my hard-core I Hate You and I Hope You Die students switched attitudes and started being interested in choir. We sang on-key. In harmony. With proper vowels. I almost exploded from the joy, especially once some of my hardest cases began to give me grudging smiles.

I actually taught this week. Even if it was with the backup of another teacher to write up the discipline slips and take attendance during warm-up. Hopefully I won't need help next week, because more and more of the kids are accepting the fact that I am the teacher, I am here to stay, and I do have the authority.

Meanwhile, I have a week off for Thanksgiving. I intend to spend it catching up on my reading and do 95% of the work for my final paper in my grad class.

But excuse me if I use the first weekend of it to ::plop::...

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante