Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Senior Syndrome
2004-09-04 - 7:45 p.m.

Feeling: sunburned
Listening to: Vertical Horizon - Famous
Reading/Watching: season 6 of Buffyness

Yesterday was Drew's birthday, and for the first time in a while, I was invited along on the b-day outing, which made me happy.

I ignored mon coeur's half-serious suggestion that I should promise to be there and then not show (Birthday Boy has a not-so-good track record when it comes to parties I'm throwing, such as the last four), and found Drew a nice gift the day of the party, scrambling to get it gift-wrapped before we were supposed to meet at school and head off for the restaurant together.

Overall, it was an interesting time with a large group of people I've been merely "amiably acquainted" with for the past few years. I felt like I was tying up loose ends, sitting down and having conversations with all these people I kept telling myself I needed to get to know better.

It reminded me of something I told Bri about, Senior Syndrome, where someone realizes they're leaving within a year, and so they dedicate their time to chatting up all those semi-strangers who share the orbit around the school building but somehow never get further than a smile and a "hey" when they pass each other on the sidewalk. She sees it as fake, pretending to be nice so that people won't leave with a bad memory of you.

I always figured it was more of a reaction to the stomach-punch feeling when you realize, "That 'someday' is going to expire soon. Every day is a last chance for something. I may never find out what hides behind his/her eyes unless I ask today. I could waste my four-year window to live in so many different lives if I don't do something now."

...Or at least, that's how it feels when you're a great big cornball like me. But I love picking people's brains, and people love to tell their stories, so I figure it works out for the best.

The birthday party was just yet another installment of Senior Syndrome, although I spoiled it slightly by telling one guy (who doubtless thought he was the coolest thing ever), "That's not dancing, that's dry humping" after he started demonstrating his mad dance skillz (trying to clamber all over me like a monkey on a baobab).

I think it burst his bubble a little bit... compared to most straight guys' dancing, he's probably used to having girls swoon at his sense of rhythm.

I remain unimpressed. But hey, it's good to get to know some people better and realize you were better off not knowing them quite so well.

Comments? 2 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante