Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Surfacing
2004-07-23 - 1:55 a.m.

Feeling: relieved
Listening to: Kate Callahan - Breath of a Dream
Reading/Watching: going to watch The Missing soon...

What a difference two days can make.

After my long bout of Sylvia-Plath-wannabe ramblings, I went to sleep and promptly called in sick to work the next morning because I just plain didn't feel like it. I'm handing in my two weeks notice Friday, since I need some time to work on my thesis before school starts, and dammit, I am lazy.

I spent my day at home exercising for an hour, folding laundry, doing dishes, sweeping and scrubbing the kitchen floor, vacuuming the living room, dusting (the muck on top of the fan blades had to die), ironing some of my work clothes, cooking a real dinner, baking gingerbread, and basically doing all the crap my mom couldn't have paid me to do as a teenager, because I despise doing it. But give me long enough of a time when I can't do it, and suddenly I'll hunger for the chance to get something done, to do something right, to finish things and be able to enjoy their being finished.

It felt good to do all those things, although I was very careful not to call anyone and announce my unexpected day off (one, because I didn't feel like explaining exactly why I was a bum and played hookie, and two, because I needed to stay in my apartment for once, instead of merely sleeping and eating there sometimes).

Nimsay and I actually spent the day talking (novel concept, for roommates), and catching up on things that there hasn't been time to say. We looked up a recipe online for dinner, basically improvising a honey-lemon chicken dish by mixing two ideas, and it was damn good (being a non-sucky cook really raises my self-esteem, I'm not sure why). Then I invited Drew to stop by (and he actually came over, it was amazing!), and we ate gingerbread and chatted on the couch for a couple of hours, something I also haven't had time to do for quite a while. I forgot how good he is at giving advice (and hugs).

Tonight Bri invited me over to go swimming again, and I went with a different mindset, not so determined to try to escape something. We actually swam this time, instead of just haunting around the outside wall, and her roommate Panda was there with her boyfriend, now dubbed the Snorkel Monster (he has prescription goggles, � la Notting Hill, and would actually attempt to carry on conversation through the snorkel), and this time when I swam I was a mermaid, and not Ophelia.

So now I'm drooping, pleasantly exhausted, and contemplating bed. I am very glad that tomorrow's Friday, and I must say, after all the weird gyrations I've thought my way through this week, I am glad to have arrived where I am.

And, love? I am glad I wasn't able to think my way out of you.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante