Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Swooning
2006-03-27 - 4:31 p.m.

Feeling: less dizzy
Listening to: The Mother Hips - Emotional Gold
Reading/Watching: Desperate Housewives

I am apparently reverting to being a woman of a previous era. Twice in the past twenty-fours, I have felt like I was about to "swoon."

Now, I used to think it would be cool to swoon. I imagined it was something neat and involved fluttering gracefully to the ground, murmuring the word "swoooooooooonnn..." but, turns out, it's just big, sloppy fainting. It's only graceful if someone catches you, and even then, you'd better hope he doesn't drop your crinolined bulk after two seconds.

So yeah. I've been running on four, sometimes six hours of sleep, for the past several days. I'll try to go to bed earlier, but there's always so much to do. And sleeping in is impossible, because I pop awake when mon coeur gets up for work at 5:30, and can't usually fall back asleep, because my mind starts racing.

Couple that with drinking nothing but Diet Mountain Dew on Saturday, and racing around not having time to eat or drink anything except more soda and junk food on Sunday, and you've got serious dehydration. Then, because I am so smart, I had dinner with Krynn and Nimsay, and we shared a bottle of wine between the three of us. It feels wet, but it's more dehydration.

So that night, when I got up from the computer to go shower and go to bed, I got a serious head rush. I waited for it to pass (I get them, sometimes, it's never severe enough to explore medically), went upstairs, and stepped into the shower.

Lots and lots of steam made me feel like I was about to topple over. Since putting one's head between one's knees is inadvisable in a slippery bathtub, I finished up my shower as quickly as possible and went to lie down.

I slept for eleven hours, because mon coeur didn't have work, and every time I tried to open my eyes at a reasonable hour, they rebelled and shut again.

Waking up at noon, I think I was just very hungry, since I'm used to eating four, sometimes five meals a day, so going sixteen hours without food made me nauseous. But again, going downstairs to get breakfast made me all "swoooooooonnn"-like.

So I've spent the day being quiet. I watched movies, I set up appointments via phone, and didn't leave the apartment except to walk to the laundromat. Oh, and I ate food and drank tons of water. Dizziness seems to have passed.

It's very weird, having dizzy spells, because it makes me feel so very frail and pathetic. I've never been big on "frail and pathetic;" it's not my style. So yeah, not really a fan of the swoon anymore.

And before you worry about possible causes, it is definitely not that thing that women get, involving fainting and nausea. Having just finished girly-time on Saturday, I'm quite sure it's not that thing.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante