Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Accomplishment
2004-04-01 - 4:53 a.m.

Feeling: wired
Listening to: Tori Amos - Hey Jupiter (haunted closet mix)
Reading/Watching: nothing

I tried to get my homework done before rehearsal, I really really did.

But suddenly I was sitting backstage, in costume, trying to finish my vocal pedagogy paper, and didn't get started on my arranging homework until I got home at 11.

The teacher has all but commanded me to learn to use the computer software for composing, instead of doing it by hand, so after figuring it out for the first hour and a half, and translating the handwritten portion onto the computer, I finished my arrangement of "The Way We Were" around 4 in the morning, buzzing from four cups of Earl Grey and an entire baggie of those chocolate-covered espresso beans.

I am completely giddy, and not at all tired. I'm so proud of my arrangement, listening to the midi playback on my computer and thinking, "I did that. There was nothing, and now, because of me, there is something." It's incredibly cool. Perhaps lame for you, but fun for me.

It came out to twelve pages (although it's only forty-six measures), written for a duet between alto and baritone, with countermelodies in flute and French horn, and piano accompaniment. Time-consuming, but ultimately worth it.

...and, because it is nearly five in the morning and I am not the *slightest* bit tired now:

1. What is your middle name?
Elaine

2. If you had been born the other sex, did your parents tell you what your name would have been?
Kevin. Then my uncle Mike and aunt Keva had their baby three days first and stole the name, so my parents were scrambling for new ideas when I was clever enough to be born sans pee-pee.

3. Do you have children and if so, what are their names?
Um. Sex is sorta required to conceive, mais non? You're a bit ahead of me, there.

4. If you were to ever have a child or more children, what would you name them?
It really depends on what their last name winds up being, although I'm fond of Lorelai and James.

5. Most people know their mother's maiden name, but do you know your grandmother's maiden name?
Paternal: Beach (yes, another Ellis Island re-spelling)
Maternal: Steffenauer

6. Did you have an imaginary friend as a child?
Nope, I was the entire cast and crew of my little backyard performances. No audience allowed.

7. What was the name of your first pet?
A golden hamster aptly named Houdini

9. What was the name of the first person you ever kissed?
*Harry

10. What was the name of the school you attended as a child?
Kaiser Elementary K-2, Greenwood grades 3-4, and Klenk grade 5

11. What was/is the name of your English teacher in high school?
The only one worth mentioning is the irrepressible Dozier (I wonder whether any of her students have ever thought to nickname her Bull-Dozier. Hrm). She taught me to write.

12. Do you name your vehicles? What are the name(s)?
1st: Bubbles, 2nd: Luna Lapereau

...Now I really should get off the internet and finish my philosophy homework. It is best to take advantage of this caffiene buzz while it lasts, because I guarantee I will be one wilted puddle of pooped-ness within the next four or five hours.

Comments? 2 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante