Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Swansong
2002-01-03 - 8:31 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

You know how you never tease someone about something you know is a real flaw? Like, you'll never catch someone teasing an alcoholic about beer. Or an obese person about weight. Unless they're extremely (extremely) secure about themselves.

Yesterday we were watching 28 Days and my dad was going off again on how ugly he thinks Sandra Bullock is ("Take away the upper half of her face and she is hideous"... yeah, I think it's a load of dung, too). He went so far as to say, "If she were my child I would throw her out. I would not allow someone that ugly near me."

Then he looked at me and grinned, adding, "So you watch out."

Since I was in the middle of wryly saying "Guess I'm in trouble then," I just giggled.

This, oddly enough, makes me feel good. But I also wonder about the eighteen other years of my life.

I've seen pictures of previous years. Matter of fact, my dad recently made a collage of kid-pictures of the four of us, and there's me, grinning at the age of nine or ten, and yes, it was more than just a low self-esteem. I was ugly. By all standards, my appearance was just sub-par. And I think nothing less of myself for recognizing it, though I do somewhat regret being unable to shake the impression over time.

I consider myself the epitome of an ugly duckling. (I was going to say epitomical but I was unsure if it was even a word.) I'm no Marilyn Monroe, but I'm not ugly. And it's nice.

Especially since my dad seems to have become comfortable enough with my appearance to tease me about it... if that makes any sense at all.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante