Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Good things
2009-05-07 - 2:01 p.m.

Feeling: uppity
Listening to: folk songs
Reading/Watching: --

Yesterday I got home, let 'Dante in, watched him flop belly-flat on the cool tile, panting, back legs splayed to the sides (Bear calls it "frog-dog position"), and then everything shut off. Lights, fans, internet, everything.

I spent about a half hour flailing, checking my fuse boxes, worrying that my electric bill had been misplaced (I haven't seen one for this place yet, which is weird), before calling the power company and finding out it was out everywhere. I guess too many people started using AC at once, and it overwhelmed a circuit... power... thingy.

So I looked at Andante. Andante looked at me, mouth wide, tongue hanging out the side of his jaws. And we packed up to go for a walk in the park.

On our way there, with the Booger-bear drooling out the open windows, my phone rang. The coordinator of the canceled New York vacation wanted to meet with me, to give me a full refund of the amount I paid, minus the airline ticket. Would I like to meet her and pick it up?

Why yes, I believe I would. So I collected my check for over $500, and started making plans. I would go this summer. I would go alone, or ask a good friend. Who knows, maybe Mr. New Guy would want to go, since he just moved from there... if we were at that place. If we were still in contact. Very hard to predict. Wow, counting some serious chickens before they hatch.

Okay, so I'll go alone. No! I'll go with Bear! Yay.

And two friends have a deal on a really cheap trip to Vegas in June, provided they can find two more people to share the hotel room. Would I be interested? Why yes, I believe I would.

Did a few victory laps around the dog park, my lovely little $500 check shining brightly in my wallet.

Came home, and was settling into bed that night when the phone rang. New Guy calling. What am I up to this weekend? Oh, I don't know. What would you like me to be doing this weekend?

So, life definitely did not suck yesterday. Matter of fact, I enjoyed the hell out of it. I may not be out of the tunnel, and the light may be tantalizing from so far away, but at least it's there. I can see it, and it's there.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante