Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

The Ick Factor
2005-12-18 - 10:10 p.m.

Feeling: flushed
Listening to: The Mountain Goats - Tallahassee
Reading/Watching: cereal boxes

At last, a chance to spend time with my Australian cousin. I haven't seen her (or her brother and sister, but they weren't in town) since fall of 2000. She's in the states for two months, traveling all over the everywhere, and at last, she calls, and we are going to hang out.

So I'm invited to dinner at the home where she's staying, with her aunt and uncle and several other relatives from the other side of her family. I feel awkward, but they are warm and funny and intelligent, so I'm eating vegetarian enchiladas and talking with my cousin about college and careers and music, feeling comfortable and somewhat adopted.

Then, in the midst of the warm comfy, her divorced uncle hits on me. Her uncle. Meaning old enough to be my uncle. Hits on me. At the dinner table.

I'd gotten so used to the ring protecting me from that, but I guess a V-neck shirt overrides an engagement rock.

V-neck = bad. Just bad. Nothing good ever comes of them, and I almost always wind up sitting with my forearm positioned defensively across my sternum, because as soon as it gets attention from the wrong person, I get all shy and embarrassed. I should burn them all; my cringe moments far outweigh the times I'm feeling bold. But that would make mon coeur so very, very sad...

But hey, at least I got to see my cousin. She is awesome, as always, and I truly hope she comes back to the U.S. again soon. It's odd, how blood just entwines people, so that they always have something to talk about.

There: ending the entry on a positive note. Always good.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante