Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Southland in the Springtime
2005-05-19 - 9:56 a.m.

Feeling: indecisive
Listening to: Jewel - 'Til We Run Out of Road
Reading/Watching: The Golden Compass, by Philip Pullman

I always thought the return trip would be the easy one, since we're simply retracing steps.

But now it's a question of what to do on the way back. We have three or four ideas of where to stop, what to see, but they are all time-consuming, and often (more importantly) money-consuming.

Between northern California and southern Texas, there is a hell of a lot to do and see. Universal studios, Medieval Times, the Grand Canyon, every single road stop that advertises Indian trading posts, etc. There's so much we haven't seen of this country, and didn't stop to see on the way over, because of time constraints. It galls me. I want to see everything.

But we're tired, I'm a bit homesick, and our funds are rapidly depleting. So we'll be making last-minute calls on each tourist attraction, deciding on it as we pass it.

I can't help but remember the time Bri dragged me kicking and screaming to San Diego over spring break, and I moaned about expense and time and all manner of things, but wound up having the time of my life. I'd like to make those type of mistakes, instead of the others.

But if the return drive is half as enjoyable as the outbound one, I know I'll arrive happy and broke and tired and madly in love all over again, so that's not so bad.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante