Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Thanksgiving, an overview
2005-11-28 - 11:25 p.m.

Feeling: scattered
Listening to: Fiona Apple - Red, Red, Red
Reading/Watching: Buffy s.2 - Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered

I have started this entry about four separate times, and decided that I do not want to give a long, detailed storytelling of how Thanksgiving was. It usually results in whining and melodrama.

Instead, I will give the bulleted plot-points version.

- Homemade wheat bread does not turn out well if the yeast is dead. In the end, we had a four-inch-tall lump of brown bran-filled compound. We weren't sure whether to slice it or punt it.
- Arriving Thursday morning, we caught all the best family moments and missed the boring pre-show. Best decision ever. Plus? No traffic whatsoever coming into Hometown.
- I did not count calories. At all. For the first time in 6 months, I ate what I wanted, and did not give two farts about it.
- I still couldn't eat a ridiculous amount of food, because after the first 2000 calories, my stomach started screaming, much the way it did last time I tried to down a double cheeseburger. Grr.
- My sister-in-law brought a 6" sample of her lemon cake with raspberry filling and buttercream-emphasis-on-the-cream frosting. It was the best we've ever had: erased any qualms I had about having an "amateur" wedding cake. We finished it off for breakfast the next morning.
- It surprised me just how much my mom's opinion of my living situation hurt me. I was expecting to roll my eyes and shake it off when she said "that's not how I raised you," but instead I cried. A lot.
- I officially asked Maffrew to be an usher, and was surprised by how honored and excited he was. I was expecting it to be ho-hum, but he made it special. Happy time.
- Saw Rent on Friday. Sang along (as did the woman next to me). Loved it.
- I just can't sleep well in a twin bed anymore. Especially with mon coeur down the hall.
- I had lunch with my best friend from sixth through twelfth grade. First time seeing each other since graduation in 2000. Fun, but surreal.

Last but not least, I want to officially congratulate Satan and Persephone. They went through a very rough patch (if you can call a month-long break up a rough patch), and I was worried about them both, but they seemed to figure things out for themselves, and realize they really loved each other.

So now they're not only back together, but they're engaged. This makes me extremely happy, especially since it's the first time in about a month that they've been happy. Definitely that long since they've been happy in the same room together.

On that note, bedtime. I need to go sleep next to my fianc� like the base, immoral fornicator that I am. You'd think I'd never had a mother at all.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante