Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Balancing
2005-01-09 - 10:45 p.m.

Feeling: anticipatory
Listening to: Ben Folds - Golden Slumbers
Reading/Watching: National Treasure - fun but brainless

Forgive my vague melodrama of yesterday, suffice it to say that things have balanced out in a more or less satisfactory fashion. The depths of boy-stupid continue to astound me sometimes, but the charm value of boy-contrition is often more than adequate for redemption.

Today I witnessed the strange balancing act that is the life of a ten-year-old girl.

One of the girls from the church where I sing invited me to her birthday party, where she was celebrating finally being a double-digit. At the party, she had mostly adults, like the people from church, and a couple of friends from school. The adults all gave her toys, Barbies, fun cute girl things.

Her fourth-grade friends all gave her grown-up things, like nail polish, jewelry, and DVDs. It made me realize how big the gulf is between a kid's age and what age adults want that kid to be. She loved all the presents, but I could tell that she didn't know which one she should play with first, the toys or the grown-up gifts.

There are times I feel I'm still doing the balancing act, where I don't know whether to live for the moment in true schoolgirl fashion, or plan for the future like a responsible (::shudder::) adult.

Regardless, the school year starts tomorrow (the beginning of the end ::dramatic chord::), and I should load my backpack with all necessary supplies before getting some decent sleep (last night I got perhaps four hours, caught between exhaustion and wanting to spend every possible last minute with mon coeur before he left in the morning) and heading off to campus early to make sure all my papers are in order.

Comments? 2 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante