Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

LastFirst Observations
2005-01-10 - 5:26 p.m.

Feeling: frivolous
Listening to: "Zoloft" - Ween
Reading/Watching: Duty and Desire, Pamela Aidan

As Amber observed, this is my last semester. The beginning of the Last Things (unlike last year, when I thought I'd be done in four and a half years, and began mourning my departure prematurely).

Last time greeting people and asking politely about their Christmas, last time looking up classrooms minutes before I'm supposed to be there, last time adding one more course to my schedule, last time fighting with the idiotic bursar people (I don't think I'll miss that), last time waiting in bookstore lines with a pile of fresh notepads, textbooks, and a new daily planner.

It was also my last time to sit in the introductory session of a class and write notes to myself about the professor rather than the subject matter.

PL 2332 - Dr. Ethics, ________ Hall:
Foundational Ethics
It is potentially unwise that I am taking the philosophy course intended to follow the freshman class more than four years after completing said prerequisite. Oh, well. (Remember to ask if that matters.)

-Always e-mail if going to miss class
(He looks like a softie, though. Don't think skipping would affect my grade as long as I'm creative enough.)

...It's a grayer, more chatty Miller. Earring and all. Oh my. I think those are black jeans instead of slacks.
They are. I can see the rivets.

Take notes from lectures and text. 1 book.
Test 1: 25%, Test 2: 35%, Final: 40%

I think he used to be a hippie. He looks like he'd be more comfortable with a ponytail.

We get to CHOOSE between an essay test, a multiple choice test, a paper, or an oral presentation? I think I love this man.

...Of course, my first-day observations aren't always accurate. In my capstone Honors course, for which I pulled countless all-nighters and grew terrified and frantic just to earn a C, I think my first-day comments on Dr. Evil Philosophy were as follows: "What a cute little grandpa man. Perhaps other people hated this class just because it was so early in the morning." Other times, my notations of "My, Dr. Psychology is attractive" became full-blown crushes by the end of the year, and were much closer to predicting the course of the semester. We'll see if Dr. Ethics is as fun as he seems (Miller? Any insights into the man from which you seem to have been cloned?).

Today Mini-Me turned 21, and we are planning on celebrating tonight. She wants to meet for dinner in the caf (the caf, I tell you. She wants her birthday dinner to be in the disgusting Temple of Aramark. What romantic memories she'll have), then head out to a bar or club where she will, as she put it in her precise way, "Try my first alcoholic drink."

When people teased her about getting drunk she gave them looks of sheer terror, so I'm thinking it'll be a relatively tame evening.

Afterward, I plan to go home and seek worthwhile occupation. Perhaps I'll even study, or practice my recital pieces.

No, best not to lie. I'll watch movies, drink tea, and walk around PJs and slippers. First rule of philosophy: Know Thyself.

Comments? 2 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante