Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

New Year's Meme
2003-12-31 - 1:55 p.m.

Feeling: Pensive
Listening to: Cinderleaf - At 11:11
Reading/Watching: Fellowship

1. What did you do in 2003 that you'd never done before?
Got a new apartment, bought my own furniture/housewares, etc... worked retail... got laid off/fired, just as I was about to quit...

2. Did you keep your new year's resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Not aware of making any, but I'm pretty sure I didn't keep a single one if I did. Next year, I'm just resolving to pay my rent on time and get my diploma. That's all.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Three women from the church where I sing... one of whom was the priest's wife I babysat for while baby made its grand entrance.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
No, but someone close to me lost several someones.

5. What countries did you visit?
Heh. Texas, Texas, and Texas.

6. What would you like to have in 2004 that you lacked in 2003?
Hrm. A coffee table? Better brakes for Luna? Ooh, I know, a BA.

7.What date from 2003 will remain etched upon your memory?
February 12, March 21, April 28, May 24, July 18-20.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
No singular one, without sounding particularly crass or sentimental, so perhaps just making it through the year.

9. What was your biggest failure?
The ways I failed myself, failed to be the person I should be. Nothing else.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Colds and insomnia, nothing serious.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
Ticket(s) to Evanescence. It was a good time. Especially the look on a certain demon's face when he knew he was going.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
Miller. Kiki. Nimsay. My dorksisters. Lindsy. Mini-Me. *Bear (new nickname for sister). Puppy. KelRee. Chessa. etc. Basically everyone who made me feel good about myself when things were crappy.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and/or depressed?
Not going to list them, because some of them read this, and I'm sure they know. No need to publicly embarrass them.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Rent and furnishings. And a clothes washer. And Christmas presents. Saved the majority.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Concerts, moving into my own place, turning 21, and a night that later made me really, really, really "appalled and/or depressed."

16. What song will always remind you of 2003?
Anywhere & Farther Away, Evanescence. Finally, You're Pretty. Four-Eyed Girl, Rhett Miller. Breakfast After Ten, Blue October.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder?
Difficult to say. Wiser. Not necessarily sadder.
ii. thinner or fatter?
Possibly thinner, but I don't keep track anymore.
iii. richer or poorer?
Poorer. More to pay for, less money coming in.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
Laugh. Let go. Be as content to be alone, as I was to be on my own. Oh, and study. And sleep.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
Cry. Think I couldn't handle it. Let people make me feel small. And sit around waiting for someone to call when I could've been living.

20. How did you spend Christmas?
The usual, exchanging gifts with siblings, going out to dinner (with the waiter who *emptied* his cherry jar into my Shirley Temple), singing at Midnight Mass, talking with Puppy and Bear until the wee hours.

21. Did you fall in love in 2003?
It feels like it, although I'm sure someday I'll look back and say no.

22. How many one night stands?
If the definition includes sex, then none. If it doesn't, then two.

23. What was your favourite TV program?
Buffy. And it died. Sniffle. In second place is Angel, of course, still going strong.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?
Nope. My enemies are few and forever.

26. What was the best book you read?
White Oleander, by Janet Fitch.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Blue October. Rhett Miller. Melanie Doane. Vienna Teng.

28. What did you want and get?
An apartment. Kissed. A singing job. Drunk. A car stereo. A chance to stand up to my father, even if only verbally.

29. What did you want and not get?
A wall calendar. A teakettle. Someone to kiss at midnight. (Won't go further, for in that path lies madness.)

30. What was your favourite film of this year?
Return of the King. Frida (does that count? I watched it this year). Love Actually.

31. What did you do on your birthday?
Saw a movie with Nimsay, and had my first legal drink at lunch. Went to Sistertown, where Bear and I got silly-drunk, ran into my cousin working the door at Cheers, met up with two of her friends, and one of them grabbed my ass.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Slapping a certain someone. Ohhh, so tempting.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2003?
Didn't know "whatever is clean" was a concept. Jeans, broken tennies, some sort of top. Occasionally cleavage-friendly, but not always.

34. What kept you sane?
This. Right here. Diaryland is a true godsend. That, and the people whose behavior "merited celebration" before.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Tom Welling, as always.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
The possibility of another constitutional amendment. There has never been an amendment that actually *limited* the rights of *some* Americans before, and I think it the worst idea this country has ever had, behind slavery and prohibition.

37. Who did you miss?
Harry. Sick, yes, but I did. And the cousins I got to see at Christmastime.

38. Who was the best new person you met?
My voice teacher's husband- fantastic director.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2003.
Oh, no. Not going there. Basically, when someone says they will always be there, remember their silent proviso: "Unless you do something I don't like."

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
Those who say the past is not dead, stop and smell the smoke. "Smoke," by Ben Folds Five:

Leaf by leaf and page by page
Throw this book away
All the sadness all the rage
Throw this book away
Rip out the binding, and tear the glue
All of the grief we never ever even knew
We had it all along

Now its smoke

The things we've written in it
Never really happened
All of the people come and gone
Never really lived
All of the people come have gone

No one to forgive: smoke

We will not write a new one
There will not be a new one
Another one, another one

Here's an evening dark with shame
Throw it on the fire
Here's the time I took the blame
Throw it on the fire
Here's the time we didn't speak
It seemed for years and years
Here's a secret
No one will ever know the
Reasons for the tears

They are smoke

Where do all the secrets live
They travel in the air
You can smell them when they burn
They travel
Those who say the past is not dead
Stop and smell the smoke
You keep on saying the past is not dead
Come on and smell the smoke
You keep saying the past is not even past
You keep saying...

But we are smoke

Nimsay? What say we make this year a do-over? We'll keep the apartment, your graduation, and my turning 21, and burn the rest.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante