Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

A Book By its Cover
2003-12-30 - 2:13 a.m.

Feeling: silly
Listening to: Dispatch - War
Reading/Watching: "Carnal Innocence"... yup, that's what it's called.

Okay, so Lala sent me books for Christmas, which proves how well she knows me. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, just because the title is so weird, two books I'd loaned her (and crap, I need to mail her back Cold Mountain), and surprisingly enough, one of those Harlequin novels with the half-naked people on the cover.

Um. Raised eyebrow. I mean, I won't say I never read one, because I was fascinated with them from junior high to highschool. But they don't exactly rate on my list of favorite reads nowadays.

Except Lala doesn't do random default gifts. So I gave her the benefit of the doubt, and started reading.

By the end of chapter two, I knew exactly why she'd sent it to me. The heroine was a slightly shy, mid-twenties English teacher who bemoaned her untamable curly hair and the fact that at 5'11", she towered over most men. She had an overprotective father and two brothers, a wild imagination, a sarcastic tongue, a love for reading, and her name was Caitlin, but people called her Caitie.

By the time I read about Caitie making up stories to amuse herself while vacuuming, I had to laugh. I've never read a book with me as a heroine before. Definitely not one involving sex scenes in waterfalls. And naturally she got matched with a blond bad-boy FBI agent who drove a Porsche and fell madly in love with her sweetness and "Carnal Innocence" (that being the highly original title), on account of his heart being all crumpled before by some evil heartless woman who only used him for sex (yeah, 'cause that happens often), so that's not quite so much like my life (not into blonds or Porsches, really).

But I wanted to say thanks, Lala. It made me laugh. I hope you like your present as much as I liked mine.

Comments? 2 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante