Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Reason #4924 why I was probably Rain-Man in another life...
2003-01-22 - 7:04 p.m.

Feeling: goofy
Listening to: Matchbox 20 - Hand Me Down
Reading/Watching: watching "Angel"... six fun-filled new episodes, whee!

Five minutes into English class, I realized my professor was saying the word "okay" incessantly.

Yes, I was that bored. I think it might have been a nervous tic of his, an odd way for him to end sentences, or a habit when he rambles (which means constantly). Curious, I pulled out a sheet of paper and began counting once I'd mentally reached something like twelve "okay"s in a row. One tally for every unnecessary use of the word, meaning if he said "using sentence fragments is okay," it wouldn't count.

He continued to lecture about the difference between "its" and "it's," placing a superflous "okay" after virtually every phrase. What began as a joke amidst boredom continued in fascination, as I realized he had forty tallies in five minutes. I had to stifle the urge to laugh like one of those bag-ladies who giggles to her dumpster-collection of discarded shoes.

Mickey, sitting next to me, kept glancing at my paper, obviously wondering why I added a tic mark every few seconds. I badly wanted to share the joke with him, but decided he probably wouldn't appreciate the fine art of absurdity like I do.

In 40 minutes, the professor said the word "okay" a total of 203 times. That's over five times a minute. Every twelve seconds. Good gracious God.

The saddest part is, that's the most interesting thing that's happened to me all day. I wasted a perfectly good pen on tallies instead of useful boredom-doodles.

P.S.- If you haven't heard, there's this new website called Swappingtons where you list things you don't want any more, kind of like Half.com, except instead of giving dollar amounts, you decide how many points you want for it. And then you use those points to trade for someone else's stuff. I just traded a book (yay!), and I'm looking for a CD or DVD I want... it's basically like getting it for free, you know? If you go sign up, be sure to list megmarch as your referral. :)

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante