Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Gainfully Employed
2004-06-02 - 10:06 p.m.

Feeling: giddy
Listening to: humming Blind Melon, "No Rain"
Reading/Watching: Time of the Twins, Weis & Hickman

And since I've been moping about it for so long, I only feel right bringing the moping to a close:

Friday, I took the aptitude test for a phone/office job, working for Information (you know, where people dial 411 and get connected to the place they need?), and got an interview for Tuesday.

Tuesday, Miller chauffered me around town while my flat tire was being fixed, including taking me to and from the interview, after which we celebrated my good interview with lunch (and my first-ever piece of rhubarb pie, which I have discovered that I love madly).

Today, less than 24 hours later, they called me to offer me the job. Full-time, eight dollars an hour, reasonable dress code, the kind of hours I can really, really handle (starting at noon, instead of 7 or 8 in the morning).

WheeHappyDance!

Now, when I have to take an unexpected trip to Hometown to pick up some mail and get an eye exam, I can arrive with the good news that I have a nice lovely solid job. And my father can stop griping at me (well, he still will, but at least this time he'll have to search harder for something to find wanting). And there will be singing and rejoicing throughout the land.

I feel like I should frolic through a field of daisies and pudgy bunnies. With my hippo feet, there'd be petals and fluff flying every which way.

Comments? 3 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante