Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

The logical results of taking a work-intensive graduate class within a 4-week period
2008-06-13 - 4:01 a.m.

Feeling: tired doesn't really cover it... giddy and delusional, maybe
Listening to: the voices in my head: no, seriously.
Reading/Watching: all Grove, all the time

<.study break.> Crazy I am slowly going...

This is the third day in a row I have stayed up, with the help of coffee and determination, to finish the article notes and summaries assigned by my grad class.

To be fair, I was a bit lazy at first and didn't do much the first day of class (because something in my mind insisted that it was the first day of class, and homework should not be required), so I was forced to double up on Tuesday, which put me behind.

I have since lost all sense of "bedtime" and my single, unending day is punctuated by brief forays into food, showers, and phone calls to explain to friends why I really, really can't talk right now, but we'll catch up later.

Longer 2-3 hour time-blocks are devoted to luxuries like cat naps. If I did the math, I believe I have slept a total of 12 hours since Tuesday morning. My dog, who likes to sleep with me (or else stay up to join in the excitement), is thoroughly baffled by my strange habits.

I swear to myself that I need to learn to skim and shortchange here and there, because this is obviously not a lifestyle that is conducive to operating with the outside world. I swear, I will sleep for a more extended period of time when I get home from class at 11:00 this morning (Friday).

Until then, I am going over the 70-page article in the New Grove Dictionary of Music on Musicology, and I cannot seem to wipe Bernstein's Chichester Psalms out of my head.

It's all Movement 1, all the time. Hebrew, 7/8 meter, and big heavy bass drum beats. At this point, I'm about to turn on the rap radio station just to drive it away.

<./study break.>

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante