Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

No Big Deal
2008-06-14 - 8:40 p.m.

Feeling: anxious
Listening to: Sense Field - Haunted
Reading/Watching: Twilight, by Stephenie Meyer

So the All-level Music Proficiency exam is 90 questions, and you have up to 5 hours to take it, including 40 minutes of listening samples.

Somehow I finished it in an hour and a half.

As soon as I sent in my results and logged off the computer station, I got a big fat wave of the heebie-jeebies. Maybe I rushed. Maybe I should have reviewed my answers again. I had five hours, after all. And suddenly, it was bothering me how many of the questions had made me wish for a fifth option: "I don't fricking know."

I already had music cycling through my head, thanks to the listening samples and sheet music I had to analyze, so I focused on singing something on my way back to the parking lot.

In case you're wondering, "Deh vieni non tardar" from Marriage of Figaro is a great relaxation exercise. It is so smooth and liquid, you literally have to focus on nothing but breathing and making your entire body into one continuous mechanism. Very soothing.

Plus, I got to wander around the (empty) quad, singing Mozart and hearing the buildings echo it back to me. And my upper range is back, thanks to months of allergy meds and anti-reflux measures. Nothing like floating a gentle B-flat to make a girl feel competent.

Plus, if I fail (my first failure of standardized testing since first grade, when I wrote a story off the prompt instead of a descriptive paragraph), I will just take it over. No big deal.

Yes. Keep saying that.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante