Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

The Vigil
2009-07-04 - 1:54 p.m.

Feeling: anxious
Listening to: Paula Cole - Throwing Stones
Reading/Watching: The Virgin's Lover - Phillippa Gregory

4 more days. I have absolutely no idea what could happen in court.

It's like holding vigil for a loved one. I know they're dead, I know they're gone. It was a long, wasting illness, and I have mourned. I just have to wait for the burial.

I am not looking forward to staring at the corpse one more time. By now it's surely not pretty.

The main thing that frightens me is that we will have to reach a compromise. And I only asked for what I felt was truly fair, and he asked for chunks of money, pounds of flesh, and all my internal organs.

So reaching a "compromise" between the two means that it's not really going to be right, or fair. It's just going to be halfway in between.

I should have demanded a pony. "For X amounts of neglect in the marriage and emotional battery through the separation, the spouse would like compensation in the form of a pony." Compromise that, crazy motherfucker.

Four more days. And then next Saturday I am throwing a huge party for everyone I know and love, as if it's a wedding in reverse. We are celebrating my emancipation. Whether I truly feel like celebrating or not, friends are already offering to chip in booze and games and baked goods, and I will live like a Roman for a night.

A free Roman.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante