Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Wakeful
2004-03-28 - 11:20 p.m.

Feeling: wakeful
Listening to: Alison Krause - Down in the River
Reading/Watching: O Brother, Where Art Thou?

Now that I'm in the clear concerning vocal nodes, I've been singing like mad: in the shower, fixing breakfast, driving to school, humming as I walk between classes.

Reminds me of the time I dared Mini-Me to sit in absolute silence for ten minutes, and she almost cracked from the frustration. The girl's just like me, she's constantly making some form of noise. Especially now, when I know it's not hurting anything, it's like I'm nine years old again, making up silly songs about everything:

Oh my shoes are getting wet, my shoes are getting wet, they're squishy and my socks are soaked, my shoes are getting wet... (to be sung to the tune of The Farmer in the Dell)

As if on cue, I also got another singing job with the synagogue for Passover, about ten hours worth of work total. Very very happy, as this will almost entirely be put into savings (post-graduation trip! eeee!). I forgot how much singing lifts my spirits.

Following today's concert, I went home and tried to get started on homework, but kept nodding off. So I decided to lie down "briefly" and get up in an hour or so, since I was determined to get my homework finished and still sleep enough tonight.

I woke up five hours later when mon coeur called at ten o' clock.

So now I'm completely awake, eating leftovers and settling in for an odd night of studying and possibly getting back to sleep around 3-ish.

...This is actually a pretty cool idea: fewer interruptions, more of a feeling of isolation, nothing good on TV to distract me. I might do this more often in future, like Lala does.

(Although I'll never get started as long as I'm dancing around my kitchen in undies, singing along to Tori's Talula. So. Ahem.)

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante