Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Five Questions
2003-03-25 - 5:24 p.m.

Feeling: Simple
Listening to: Tonic - "Irish"
Reading/Watching: "Dragons of a Fallen Sun," by Weis & Hickman (on loan from Geoff, who is WONDERFUL)

A friend sent me these in an e-mail, and they're so thought-provoking, I had to answer them here.

1) What would you rather be, more organized or more spontaneous?

I think I've got a pretty good balance going, although it gets me in trouble when I procrastinate too much. If I could somehow become more organized (without becoming more anal-retentive and losing the ability to drop everything and go out for breakfast every once in a while), I'd do it.

2) Who would you want to have walk in your shoes for a day?

It's weird, because usually this question asks who would you want to *be* for a day, not the other way around. But I suppose I would want to trade places with someone I have a big misunderstanding with, so as to clear up the confusion and try to better understand them. So perhaps Charlie Brown, wherever he is (for explanation, read fall of my freshman year). I'd actually like to see what he's up to, if he ever pulled a "Jerry Maguire" and became the man he wanted to be. And of course, I'd like him to see what kind of person I am, how I've turned out entirely different from what he thought. Yes, I'm petty and I'd like him to know what he's missing. But I'd also like to see if he's happy wherever he is--as happy as I am now that he's far away.

3) What do you consider to be a defining moment in your life (so far)?

Wow, this one's going to be hard. No singular event in my life has really guided it up to this point, since I feel like nothing's really happened to me yet. Perhaps when I was 16, writing DCMI, since it really made me think hard about who I was, in order to express it in a book character. Maybe when I was 14, the very last time I attempted suicide, and decided I was never going to chicken out of living life, ever again. Or... no. I know. The Catholic Youth Conference, the summer I was 17. Kneeling in the presence of music, being beautiful. Words cannot do it justice. (Wow, I really need to remember these moments more often.)

4) If you could wave a wand and instantly be more intelligent, beautiful, or wealthy than everyone else, which would you pick?

I think it would be very lonely to be the most *anything* in the world, although I suppose intelligent would be the worst, because geniuses usually just can't relate to other people. Beauty is so subjective that there'd always be someone around to argue that so-and-so is prettier, so that's relatively safe (although I'd be afraid to find out if people would treat me differently if I ever became beautiful). So let's say wealthy. I'd want to be the wealthiest person, because then at least I could spread that around. You can't rub your face on someone to make them prettier, or knock your head to theirs to make them smarter, but you can try to improve the world a little by sharing wealth.

5) If you could erase one single event from your life, what would you erase?

I'd be too scared to erase anything big, because they were all so pivotal (see question 3), but I might go ahead and erase my first car accident, three months after I got my license and inherited White Trash, that little '91 Honda Civic. It would make my insurance a lot lower, and perhaps my dad wouldn't have gotten the impression that I'm a vehicular twit quite as soon.

Wow. Talk about trips down memory lane. Makes me want to go back and find my old hand-written notebooks from highschool, remember those moments.

Comments? 4 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante